Year 1970 - SCA 11605

MASERATI GHIBLI 4.7L

Beautiful Maserati Ghibli - matching numbers & colors - 5 speed manual gear box - frame off restored by Scuderia Azzurra

  • Beautiful Maserati Ghibli 4.7L
  • 5 speed manual transmission
  • First delivered 1970 to Auto König – Munich
  • From 1975 until 2016 driven in Stockholm
  • History well known
  • Maserati Certificates
  • Overhauled 4.7 L engine
  • Matching numbers
  • Matching colors
  • Color “Verde Gemma”
  • Interior leather original “beige”
  • Frame off – restoration by Scuderia Azzurra
  • Photo documentation of the whole restoration process

Maserati Ghibli

The Maserati Ghibli (AM115) is a true style icon. The car’s innovative and striking appearance, designed by Giorgietto Giugiaro, who was chief designer at Ghia at the time, is considered formative and influenced the style of numerous later vehicles.

In 1966, Maserati presented the car for the first time at the Turin Motor Show. Based on the Mexico chassis, Giugiaro had designed a GT with a long bonnet, hatchback, charismatic hidden headlamps and dynamic lines. With its daring touch, the silhouette of the vehicle also reminds of a shark.

The response to the new model was so overwhelming, that Maserati produced even more vehicles than originally planned. In total there are just over 1100 cars. The press called it a “prestige car” in a “sensational” design. Because of the striking lines of the Ghibli, many owners preferred metallic colors, which highlight them even better.

The Ghibli was built from 1967 to the end of 1972. Named after a desert wind from the Sahara, the vehicle was one of the leading sports cars of the 1960s. The basic features of the V8 engine were based on the engine of the Tipo 450S, which was first used in racing in 1956. With a top speed of 257 km / h, the car was almost unbeatable and at that time the fastest production vehicle in the world. Only in terms of acceleration, the Ghibli was not completely convincing due to its size and high weight. It stood for luxury and comfort and is a classic Gran Tourismo – despite its sporty character with sophisticated technology, 4 Weber double carburetors and a powerful engine. In the 2 + 2 seater there is enough storage space for luggage, the engine is in the front of the car. The exclusivity of the Ghibli was also reflected in its price, which was about 10 percent higher than that of a Ferrari 275 GTB.

The Ghibli was highly popular – especially among the rich and famous. Its prominent owners included Jean-Paul Belmondo, Sammy Davis Jr., Peter Sellers and Henry Ford II. The car’s appearance in the film classic “Swimming Pool” by Jacques Deray from 1969 is iconic: In a red-brown Ghibli, the protagonists Alain Delon and Romy Schneider jet along the winding coastal road at the picturesque Cote d’Azur.

Baujahr 1970 - SCA 11605

MASERATI GHIBLI 4.7L

Beautiful Maserati Ghibli - matching numbers & colors - 5 Gang Handschaltung - frame off restauriert

  • Erstauflieferung 1970 an Auto König München
  • Von 1975 bis 2016 in Stockholm
  • Histrorie bekannt
  • Maserati Certificate
  • 5-Gang Schaltgetriebe
  • Komplett überholter 4.7 L Motor
  • Matching numbers
  • Matching colors
  • Aussenfarbe “Verde Gemma”
  • Innenausstattung Leder „Beige“
  • Fotodokumentation über alle Phasen der Restaurierung
  • Komplette – Scuderia Azzurra – Frame-Off Restauration

Maserati Ghibli

Der Maserati Ghibli ist eine wahre Stilikone. Das innovative und markante Design des Modells, entworfen von Giorgietto Giugiaro, seiner Zeit Chefdesigner bei Ghia, gilt als prägend und beeinflusste den Stil zahlreicher späterer Fahrzeuge.

1966 präsentierte Maserati den Wagen erstmals auf dem Turiner Automobilsalon. Auf Basis des Mexico Chassis hatte Giugiaro einen GT mit langer Motorhabe, Fließheck, charismatischen Klappscheinwerfern und einer dynamischen Linienführung entworfen. Die Silhouette des Fahrzeuges wirkt draufgängerisch und erinnert an einen Haifisch.

Die Resonanz auf das neue Modell war überwältigend, so dass Maserati sogar mehr Fahrzeuge produzierte, als ursprünglich geplant. Insgesamt gibt es etwas mehr als 1100 Exemplare. Die Presse sprach von einem „Prestigewagen“ in „sensationellem“ Design. Wegen der markanten Linien des Ghiblis bevorzugten viele Besitzer Metallic-Farben, die diese noch besser zur Geltung bringen.

Gebaut wurde der Ghibli von 1967 bis Ende 1972. Benannt nach einem Wüstenwind der Sahara, zählte das Fahrzeug zu den führenden Sportwagen der 60er Jahre. Der V8 Motor basierte in seinen Grundzügen auf dem Triebwerk des erstmals 1956 im Rennsport eingesetzten Tipo 450S. Mit einer Höchstgeschwindigkeit von 257 km/h war der Wagen nahezu unschlagbar und seinerzeit das schnellste Serienfahrzeug der Welt, nur in der Beschleunigung konnte der Ghibli aufgrund seiner Größe und seines hohen Gewichts nicht vollends überzeugen. Dabei stand er für Luxus und Komfort und ist – trotz seines sportlichen Charakters mit ausgefeilter Technik, 4 Weber Doppelvergasern und einer starken Motorisierung – ein klassischer Gran Tourismo. In dem 2+2 Sitzer gibt es genügend Stauraum für Gepäck, der Motor befindet sich vorne. Die Exklusivität des Ghibli spiegelte sich auch in seinem Preis wider, der ca. 10 Prozent über dem eines Ferrari 275 GTB lag.

Der Ghibli war begehrt – vor allem bei den Reichen und Schönen. Zu seinen prominentesten Besitzern zählten Jean-Paul Belmondo, Sammy Davis Jr., Peter Sellers und Henry Ford II. Unvergessen ist der Kult-Auftritt im Filmklassiker „Swimming Pool“ von Jacques Deray aus dem Jahr 1969: In einem rot-braunen Ghibli düsen die Protagonisten Alain Delon und Romy Schneider die kurvige Küstenstraße an der malerischen Cote d’Azur entlang.