Year 1958 - SCA 11412

MASERATI 3500 GT

Early Maserati 3500 GT in beautiful matching colors - SCA frame off restored

  • Winner Concours d´Èlegance Portugal
  • Winner “Best of class – Masterpieces – Schloss Dyck”
  • Winner “Best of Italian Sports Cars – Classic Days Schloss Dyck”
  • Very early Maserati 3500 GT
  • Maserati certificates (delivery note, technical data sheet)
  • Matching colors
  • Original color ‘blu’ with interior in ‘nero’
  • 4 speed manual gear box
  • Original Borrani wheels
  • First delivered to Dott. Sertorio in Turino
  • Bare metal nut and bolt – frame off – restoration by Scuderia Azzurra from 2017 until June 2019
  • Engine, gearbox and technic complete rebuilt
  • Photodocumentation of the whole restoration process
  • Fully restored and ready for the road
  • 700 km from new
  • Condition 1/ Concours Condition

Maserati 3500 GT

 

The 3500 series plays a fundamental role in the history of the brand Maserati. Without this timeless classic, the traditional Italian company would probably no longer exist. Maserati was on the verge of economic ruin after the end of the Second World War. In 1950, Adolfo Orsi and his son Omar took over the management and paved the way for the company’s success story. Together with the new chief engineer Giulio Alfieri, they steered the brand with skill and know-how on the crucial tracks and brought Maserati from the racetrack to the street.

 

The 3500 GT has been the first production model of the Italian automobile manufacturer and a car for true connoisseurs. The series was manufactured between 1957 and 1964. Only 1,972 touring coupes were produced, making the 3500 GT / GTI a rarity and a sought-after collector’s item. The spacious 2 + 2-seater has a 6-cylinder engine with twin Weber carburettors and a ZF 4-speed gearbox in the early models, and the five-speed gearbox in the later models.

 

The Maserati 3500 GT was first presented in Geneva in 1957. Two renowned Italian coachbuilders, Alemanno and Touring, both had designed a prototype. The Touring model finally went into production because the audience at the Geneva Salon was thrilled by the elegant and straightforward design and its aerodynamic aluminum body in the well-known Superleggera lightweight construction.

 

The design of the model has changed slightly over the years. Headlights, rear lights and license plate lights have been replaced and the number and position of the triangular vent windows also vary. Our vehicle is a very early model from 1958 and thus one of the very rare models produced prior to 1960.

 

The Maserati 3500 GT was very popular with celebrities. Proud owners included the actors Anthony Quinn, Liz Taylor, Tony Curtis, Stewart Granger and Rock Hudson as well as Dean Martin, Prince Rainier III. of Monaco or the Mexican President Adolfo Lopez.

 

As of 1961 the 3500 was also available as a GTI with Lucas injection. As of 1960, Vignale produced the two-seater 3500 GT Spyder, the convertible of the series. The model was designed by Giovanni Michelotti.

Baujahr 1958 - SCA 11412

MASERATI 3500 GT

Maserati 3500 GT in wunderschöner, matching Farbkombination - Scuderia Azzurra - Frame off Restauration

  • Gewinner Concours d´Élegance Portugal
  • Gewinner „Best of class – Masterpieces – Schloss Dyck“
  • Gewinner „Best of Italian Sports Cars – Classic Days Schloss Dyck“
  • Maserati 3500 GT aus sehr frühen Jahren
  • Maserati Certificates
  • Matching color
  • Außenfarbe Blu mit Lederausstattung in “nero”
  • Vierganggetriebe
  • Original Borrani Räder
  • Erstauslieferung an Dott. Sertorio in Turin
  • Perfekte „frame off“ – Restauration durch Scuderia Azzurra von 2017 bis Juni 2019
  • Motor, Getriebe, Technik komplett überholt
  • Laufleistung seit Restauriereung, ca. 700 km eingefahren
  • Ausführliche Photodokumentation über alle Phasen der Restauration
  • Bestzustand 1/ Concours Condition

Maserati 3500 GT

 

Die 3500er Modellserie spielt in der Geschichte der großen Marke Maserati eine elementare Rolle. Ohne diesen zeitlosen Klassiker würde es das italienische Traditionsunternehmen wahrscheinlich nicht mehr geben, denn nach Ende des Zweiten Weltkrieges stand man kurz vor dem wirtschaftlichen Ruin. Giulio Alfieri war es, der die Erfolgsgeschichte des Unternehmens mit Geschick und Knowhow in die entscheidenden Bahnen lenkte und Maserati von der Rennpiste auf die Straße brachte.

Der 3500 GT ist das erste Serienmodell des italienischen Automobilherstellers Maserati und ein Fahrzeug für echte Kenner. Hergestellt wurde die Serie von 1957 bis 1964. Lediglich 1.972 Stück der Touring-Coupés wurden produziert, was den 3500 GT/GTI zu einer Rarität und einem begehrten Sammlerstück macht. Der geräumige 2+2-Sitzer verfügt über einen 6-Zylinder-Doppelzünder, Weber Vergaser und eine ZF-4-Gang-Schaltung bei den frühen, die Fünfgangschaltung bei den späteren Modellen.

1957 wurde der Maserati 3500 GT in Genf erstmals vorgestellt. Gleich zwei renommierte italienische Karosseriebauer, Alemanno und Touring, durften sich an einem Prototypen versuchen. Der Wagen ging schließlich als Touring in Serie, denn das Publikum beim Genfer Salon war von dem eleganten und gradlinigen Design und der aerodynamischen Alukarosserie in bekannter Superleggera-Bauweise begeistert.

Über die Jahre hat sich das Design des Modells leicht verändert. Scheinwerfer, Rücklichter und Nummernschildbeleuchtung wurden ersetzt und die Anzahl und Position der Dreiecks-Ausstellfenster variiert ebenfalls. Unser Fahrzeug ist ein sehr frühes Modell aus dem Jahr 1958 und zählt somit zu den sehr seltenen, vor 1960 produzierten Modellen.

Der Maserati 3500 GT erfreute sich auch bei der Prominenz großer Beliebtheit. Zu den stolzen Besitzern zählten die Schauspieler Anthony Quinn, Liz Taylor, Tony Curtis, Stewart Granger und Rock Hudson sowie Dean Martin, Fürst Rainier III. von Monaco oder auch der mexikanische Staatspräsident Adolfo Lopez.

Ab 1961 gab es den 3500er auch als GTI mit Lucas-Einspritzung. Ab 1960 produzierte Vignale mit dem Zweisitzer 3500 GT Spyder das Cabrio der Serie. Der Entwurf des Modells stammt von Giovanni Michelotti.